top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiz Cuadrado

What the First 50 pages of 'You Are A Badass' Has Taught Me So Far

I'm only 50 pages into Jen Sincero's You Are a Badass book, and it has been FILLED with so many truth bombs! I figured I would share some of my favorite passages from what I've read to far, in hopes of passing along some motivation today!


I'll also be featuring a few of my favorites portraits from a recent studio photography event hosted by The Visual Chrysalis Collective, an awesome group of women photographers whose purpose is to give talented women a space and community to create new connections, grow their businesses and learn new techniques while also increasing representation of all women in the photography industry. AWESOME, right?! Learn more and become a member!


I had so much fun getting back to my creative roots with this session, even creating a custom headpiece that I can't wait to reuse this summer! Monaliza Studios in Brooklyn provided the perfect eclectic backdrops to give that extra layer of magic and whimsy.



Ready to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life? Even the book's subtitle is encouraging! Let's get started!


#1: "You need to go from wanting to change to your life to deciding to change your life."

Seems simple enough, but actually taking action on the things you want to change or improve on in your life can feel really insurmountable sometimes. This chapter breaks that down and with a fresh perspective that leaves you feeling motivated.


#2: "If you want to live a life you've never lived, you have to do things you've never done."

We all know the definition of insanity, right? Doing the same thing and expecting to get different results. I’ve caught myself getting into a routine of complaining about the same things, all the while not zooming out far enough to see that nothing will change until I put some new actions into place. This passage was the burst of energy I needed to start making those changes.


#3: "Most people are living in an illusion based on someone else's beliefs. ...Until they wake up. Which is what this book will hopefully help you do.”

Jen goes on in this chapter about the role of our conscious and unconscious minds, and how we can be aware of them in efforts to audit our lives for the better (which could mean breaking free from negative or limiting beliefs passed down to us one way or another).


#4: "The knowledge and insight and joy and connection and love are all wagging their hands in your face, trying to get your attention. The life you want is right here, right now."

This chapter encourages us to be more present in our lives, and explains how this can open up so many opportunities for us. While spending less time on our phones can certainly help, this passage really digs deeper on this: by fixating less on our pasts or anxiety of our futures and instead on the present moment, we can start to see the many beautiful opportunities around us that we might not have even noticed at all.


#5: “There are no wrong twists and turns. There is just being. And your job is to be as you as you can be. This is why you’re here… ...You are the only you there is and ever will be.”

If I could repost this entire page, I would! I definitely needed this as a reminder for myself that my path is my own, and that there is need to compare my progress to anyone else. We are each on our own unique journey on this earth. This chapter reminds us to make the most of this short but beautiful life.



Just to let you know, I didn't get paid by her to write this lol. I sincerely wanted to share these with someone, even if it’s just one person reading this post, in hopes they would feel that fire in their stomach like me and want to start making changes in their lives while getting in alignment with what their purpose is here on earth, even if we’re all still figuring that out.



Well, I’m off to finishing this book! If you want to join me (virtual book club, anyone?), you can find the book here! Let me know what you think!


Models: @lykaday, @lamestephaf, @theebaylabanks Studio: Monaliza Studios, BK Event Host: The Visual Chrysalis Collective Headpiece: handmade by me!

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page